9 Things to Consider When Shooting 360 Video and VR

Stage32.com
7 min readAug 28, 2017

Since I dove into the world of 360 spherical video and VR, I’ve heard a wide range of opinions related to the future of this branch of visual entertainment. “It’s the future!” or “It’s a fad.” Honestly, I really don’t know what the future holds for this space. I just know it’s really cool.

I’ve watched 360 videos where I’m seeing the same thing a skydiver, a scuba diver, a wingsuit diver, and dozens of other videos that adventurers have experienced. I’ve played multiple VR video games where I shoot holograms, drive tanks, and fight zombie skeletons, and of course, I want more.

This space is certainly not for everyone… and not every experience or story should be shared in 360/VR. It’s similar to 3D in that way. I’ve watched 3D features that often left me wondering how the experience was improved by 3D. There’s a certain percentage of the population who cannot view 3D, and there’s a certain percentage of the population who cannot view 360 spherical video or VR. And honestly, right now the majority of people don’t own the technology required to view it in its most compelling forms.

I’ve learned a lot of things while producing 360 videos, most importantly, shooting in 360 takes a lot of planning. Let me share some of the process with you today if you are interested in shooting your own 360 video/VR.

--

--

Stage32.com

Join over 800,000 film, TV & digital creatives and professionals who use Stage32.com to network, find work & learn. Follow our CEO @RBwalksintoabar